Samuel Booths Co Ltd, Brassfounder, Cheapside, Birmingham, UK

Always a family business, Samuel Booth Co Ltd, Cheapside, Birmingham first started manufacturing gaslight and water fittings in the latter half of the 19th century. The premises were in a merchants house in Cheapside, B,ham this was expanded and extended to adjacent Bradford Street becoming a self contained manufacturing unit. The raw materials were delivered and finished products left the dispatch dept, all research and development/design was done in-house.

My connection with Booths is that my dad, three of his brothers, their wives, my brother and myself all worked at Booths at some point since 1952. Whilst studying for my MA in Photography (1998) I undertook to re-visit Booths and spent 2 days shooting there. The photographs show the heavy industry in Birmingham and hint at the very direct humour and character of the workforce shown in their reaction to the camera and in the graffiti on signs and walls of their workplace."

The photographs were all taken with Nikon F and F2 cameras using 24mm, 50mm and 85mm lenses.
The film used was Kodak Tri-X and Fuji Neopan 400

Comments

I worked there in the tool room from 1982 to 1996, loved it 😊
I worked here for 50 years from 1958 starting as an Apprentice to Arnold Foster, (35 years as Toolroom Foreman before retiring in 2008). Memories
I worked in the tool room from 1971 for 11 years , serving my apprenticeship there with John Rous as my foreman. Now working at Samuel Heaths as tool room supervisor.
i worked there from april 1956 until 2006. i remember the above people i worked with, anthony bellars. john rous. and keith bowen. i would love to get in touch with anyone who worked with me.
i started there in there in 1956 retired 50 years later and made some good friends
I visited the site many times to see Dennis Pick on behalf of NW A and UU. Always made welcome and a pleasure to meet many of the workers there.
Hello Walter Blake , hope your keeping well , if you would like to get in touch it would be lovely to hear from you and maybe meet up for a chat , message me on 07935786293 .
worked there in the 80 s fantastic place to work loved the people
lovely firm to work for till tyco took over and made every one redundant except 2 of us 50 years service came away with nothing because i was 5 months over 65
Knew John Rous and Wolly Blake and all their work mates what a great crowd
I worked there for a few years just before the takeover. Jean shorthouse is my mother. I too remember wolly. Great bloke. Hope all is well wolly.
I worked all over for Malcolm Graham Iris and the metre shop when we moved the atmosphere went
Worked in the foundry for a few years after the fettling shop my dads in these picture. His brother worked there at the same time. Had a good time there
Im in the pictures as well got my cider t shirt on lol
you are right jean tyco was not a good firm to work for have you seen any one margaret beril breada cathy i spoke to michiel reg george everton stan out of polishin shop. dont know where all the years have gone,the older you get it seems the quicker they go
Hi wolly I still keep in touch with Margaret and beryl not seen Margaret for ages as she moved to northants can’t see beryl at moment coz of Covid not seen the lads for ages I used to go and see Stan but not for a few years now as you say as you get older the years go quick and we get slower. How old are you now wolly I am 74. I talk to a friend of yours David Webb and his wife I have know David for 60 years lol xx
nealy 80 stan is 81
Well I must admit you don’t look your age..... stay safe speak soon xxx
thank you young lady xxxxxxxx
Your welcome wolly wish I was young. Do you see Harry at all? Also do you still speak to Dave Webb? He is a right pain can only believe half of what he says lol. Xx
thats one thing you cant do turn the clocks back we all wish that .the times we had there was magic hard work its something i will never forget day trips going up the pub going to the pictures courtin them days will stay with us all the best jean xxxxxxxxxxxxx
My Mother, Linda Lamb, was the Company Secretary for many years, until she retired in the 70’s. The Managing Director was Dennis Pick. I used to go to work with her in school holidays and sit at a little desk in her office typing the little brown wage envelopes every Friday! The Foremen would come up to collect the wages for their departments. I loved going there. I remember one of the foremen was called Bob Buswell. I also fondly remember Bernard Ruffles, he was such a lovely man. I remember he used to ride round on his bike I was always playing practical jokes on him. I put a brick in his saddle bag once 😂😂 Bernard and my Mom tried to fix me up with his Grandson when I was late teens! Happy memories of my Mom and the company.
Hi all, I used to distribute Samuel Booth taps many years ago in the early 90s. Lovely products, well made and quintessentially British.
It’s great to hear off new people from booths it was a great place to work
Would to get in touch with Wally Blake
Wally Blake my phone no is 0121 242 6922
We all know your number now lol. I hope you are keeping well. I worked at both places retired in 2006. Worked with Iris and Caroline at Bradford street with mrs maskell lol
i all
Hi Matt hope you are well.
Worked there 78 to 80 only 2 yrs but some nice people worked there
Live
Hi all. I used to work in the packing department with Iris. I worked in other departments such as the assembly shop and the water meter shop. I worked from 1976 to 2007. My father is Reginald Edwards from the polishing shop.
Hi Harry you must remember me Jean worked with Iris,Pauline in the packing at Bradford st and the water meter and with Graham and Ricky upstairs how are you al, keeping
Hi Jean, yes I do remember you and we are all well. My dad Reginald will be turning 91 on the 18th of this month. I will be turning 62 this Friday. Did you know that Iris had passed away? And do you remember my brother Norman from the polishing shop? Good to hear from you
Yes i knew about Iris and I knew when your birthday was coz mine is Thursday I will be 76 I didn’t know your age how is Stan I know June is not too good. I also know about Gaynor. Yes I did know Norman I am still in touch with Tina and Frank from core shop I was at Bradford st from the 90’s and left in 2006 from the other place I still talk to wolly Blake. Are you still In touch with them I still see Sheila take care x
I remember getting locked on once about 5 of us playing table tennis police came with gate key keeper as we set alarms off
Hi Jean, my uncle Stan still comes and visits my dad Reginald but I am sorry to say that June has passed away recently. I saw Tina and Frank up town in the fountain pub last year. I still see Dave and Steve Morris in the Yardley Wood Social Club. I have seen Sheila and Paul down in Acocks Green Village just passing by some time ago.
Hi Stephen, I remember who you are now as I remember what you have just mentioned as Everton Archibald was questioned by the police about his name. Did you work in the polishing shop next to Stan Dutton?
I started up there just stamping bsm Mark on taps .. then went down to fettling and cleaning off after taps came out from foundry...Nice to hear from ex employees  On Tuesday, 12 July 2022, 21:39:15 BST, Posthaven Comments wrote: -- Reply above this line to create a new comment --Harry Edwards left a new comment on Samuel Booths Co Ltd, Brassfounder, Cheapside, Birmingham, UK:Hi Stephen, I remember who you are now as I remember what you have just mentioned as Everton Archibald was questioned by the police about his name. Did you work in the polishing shop next to Stan Dutton? View the post and reply » Unsubscribe from further comments on this post Change your Posthaven email settings
Sorry to hear about June but knew she wasn’t well is Doris Badham still with us I do hear from Margaret Turner and Beryl Ricketts was going to ask if you still use the yardley wood social do you ever see Joe from the dipping shop. Last time I saw a lot of them was at Pauline Maskell and Iris’s funeral. Yes Stephen I remember all about you lol. Do you ever see Iris’s ex boyfriend x
Harry do you remember what Paul’s surname was I know Sheila was chapman.
Harry hVe you looked at all the photos that are there I am on about 4 of them and your dad is
Hi Jean, yes Doris is still with us and I see her every week because she is still knocking around with my dad. Yes I still use the YWSC and I seen Joey Green at Malcolm Martins funeral. Yes Paul surname is Marsden. I have seen all of the pictures yes. Jean many happy returns of the day for tomorrow. We all need to meet up some where and have a good catch up
Oh I am glad Doris still here and seeing your dad pleases remember me to her I used to see her in the bullring of a Tuesday before the pandemic yes I never got to Malcolm’s funeral wish I had it was such a shock glad joey is alright. Oh yes Marsden ty ty for my birthday wishes and I hope you have a great day on Friday xx
Doris lost her sister Evelyn earlier this year, she worked in the same machine shop as Doris
Hope your having a nice day Harry. Oh yes I don’t remember Evelyn but have heard of her
Hi Jean, thank you. Are you on Facebook at all so my daughter can message you my number to keep in contact so I don’t have to go through this website
Yes I am under my the same name as on here Jean Shorthouse I looked for you on there but obviously your not on lol
Thank you Jean, she will send you a message with my phone number on Facebook. My daughter Joanne
You don’t put your phone no on Facebook do it on messenger and no one can see it what is her name so I can accept her or she can’t send a message
She sent you a message on Facebook messenger check your message requests it may have gone into there. Her name is Joanne Edwards
Ok Harry will look ty
what caused Malcolms death
Its so sad to read about how many familiar names I recognise who have now past. I worked mainly in the press shop with Eddie, Calvin & Courtney. I starting working there in the early 80’s, I still talk about working there till this day best days ever. It was great going through the pictures but it did make smile as I remember how dirty the place was, you wouldn’t get away with that today but that’s what I miss the most, honest dirty graft. All the best to everyone that’s still around.
I liked Malcolm but he had a bad home life I don’t know what caused his death. I remember Eddie I started there in the 90’s it was a friendly place to work for
Got a load of photos of me in all them lol
i harry how you doing mate hope the family are well
Hi Matt it’s harry we used to work together in the meter shop my family are well thanks for asking
yes sad to here about iris harry had many of good times in the meter shop good idea if we could meet up again oneday
I worked in the meter shop with you it was good fun. Also sad about Gaynor we lost her as well
I introduced Samuel Booth Ltd to North West Water in my capacity as Procurement Manager. It was the start of a long and beneficial relationship for both Companies. I visited the site several times and certainly recognised Dennis Pick and his office from your photograph. The foundry was like Dante’s inferno I also remember his Aston Martin and his support for Aston Villa.
Hi all I would just like to inform everyone of a sad loss. Reg Edwards from the polishing shop passed away on Monday 16th jan 2023
My mom Ethel Bennett work there in the 1970s until her death in 1996, does anyone remember her
I also worked there for about a year, I remember Beryl. My sister Sue married Malcolm.
Hi all I was ian EB from the pattern shop I worked with Martin and tony about 1990 s
I worked in the warehouse first with Iris , Caroline and Pauline I was then sent by Dennis to work in Graham’s shop was there until we moved to Warstock then made meter parts until I left in 2006
Hi all just to let you all know that my dad Reginald edwards who used to work in the polishing shop has passed away the 16th January this year
Hope you are feeling a lot better now must of been such a sad time so sorry I couldn’t make the funeral hospital apps xx
hi every one who worked at samuel booths it was like one big family very friendly i started there on my birthday 1956 denis picks uncle owned it then i started in the assembly shop with jack butlin forman on two pounds ten shilings a week then i moved to the polishing shop a few years later with my mate stanly edwards i know some of our freinds work mates are not with us any more but i dont forget them and all that worked at booths i wish all heath and happiness to you all
Hi Walter glad I still speak to you and some of the others from Booths it was a great place to work lots of fun and hard work. I haven’t spoken to Stan for a long time but still speak to Harry and Sheila Chapman
tried ringing stan no ancer.jean i thought tyco was a good firm to work for untill they made every one redundant except me i never got a penny because i was over 65 that what you get being faithfull to a firm getting up at 4,45 in the morning opening up and locking up after 6 oclock
Yes I know what you mean. When it was Booths was good Tyco was good until the end glad I got out when I did I got my severance pay and was over 60 made sure I did
Hi Everyone, I worked at Booths from 1975 until 1989 in the toolroom, did my apprenticeship there with Keith Bowen, Brendan Sheridan, and Tony Bellars, all under the watchful eye of Mr. John Rous. I know quite a few of you and its nice to see your names again!! Made me smile when Steve Clements mentioned about being locked in when we were playing table tennis......I still remember Sid Drury's face when he was called out by the the Police to let us out and identify us 😁 .........Good old days!!!
Nice to see comments by Carl Harrison posted recently, brings back many happy memories of the antics we got up to as apprentices ( the time Dennis Pick came in and caught Carl hanging upside down from the overhead heating pipe for example). Be nice to speak to you again Carl as we lost touch as our lives developed, so look me up on Facebook or send me your number.
Great to see you here Keith, certainly were some funny moments back then, I remember Dennis calling me you and Brendan the terrible trio, give me a bell sometime on: 07814546602 👍
Thanks for the reply Carl, I will call you soon for a chat, are you still working?
I am Keith yes, nearly touching the pensioner post but still at it. ....speak to you soon 🍺
It’s great to hear people reconnecting from Booths I never started there until the nineties but remember most from the tool room John Roy’s mainly I worked with graham in machine shop mainly but was put in water metre shop when short of workers what a great place to work. I started working with Iris first
Hiya Jean, I left back in 1989 and remember Graham and Iris well....it's a shame that it's not there anymore.
Yes I missed it when I retired did you know we lost Iris a few years ago. I still talk to wolly Blake and Harry Edwards
I'm sorry to hear that Jean I knew Iris quite well. Please give Wally and Harry my regards. It was sad to here that Reggie Edwards passed away too!
Yes it was also I don’t know if you remember her but Gaynor Wellington died quite young as well
I can't say that I remember her, where did she work?
She worked i Graham’s shop and went out with David Morris
I can't place her but if she worked there when I did I must have known her. Did she work with Cathy and Pat or downstairs in the water meter shop?
I knew Dave and Steve Morris very well
No upstairs in Graham’s shop that was by Rickie’s shop
Must have worked with Cathy and Pat then
Yes I do believe she did and with Donna and Mandy
I was surprised and saddened to hear that Malcolm passed away too he couldn't have been very old either
No he wasn’t even a pensioner nice man Malcolm
Hi all I remember all the lads from the tool room I used to play table tennis with brendon in the polishing shop good old days
Hi all I heard that dave winkworth passed away this year he was the maintenance man at booths
Hi Harry, remember you well too, that really is tragic news hearing about Dave Winkworth he was a really nice guy. Best wishes to you, your family, and everyone one else from Samuel Booths.......have a Happy Christmas all!!! 🎄🎅
Hi Harry shame about Dave condolences to the family. Merry Christmas to all x
Hi Harry, I’m shocked and saddened to hear Dave Winkworth passed away. He worked with my dad Bernard for many years. Dad thought very highly of him, please pass my condolences to his family if possible. Thanks to everyone else for keeping the conversation going on this page. Kind regards Dave
Yes David it was sad I don’t know if I remember your Dad the name rings a bell but it could be just in conversation I was there from 1993 until 2006
Hey Jean, Dave originally worked with Sid Drury on the maintenance where Sid was part time. When Sid retired Dave worked mainly as an electrician but also alongside of Bernard. When Bernard retired Kevin did the job for a while.
Hi Carl do you know what years that was coz can’t remember Sid
Jean Sid Drury was there years before i started in 1975 came back after retirement part time in the late 70s and then retired completely around the mid 80s if I remember correctly. He was on the toolroom with John Rouse for years and then went downstairs to the millwright shop where Dave worked as an electrician
Hi all merry Christmas to you all I started at booths 1976 I used to help Bernard make crates and the wooden trays for the polishing shop I also remember sid Dury I worked in the packing room them days sid was the maintenance man them days
Bet you'll never forget working with Stan in the packing shop either Harry, regards to Norman, Louie, and the family!
Well I remember John Rouse and all the Edwards family the lads in the forge and quite a few others I started off in dispatch with Iris in 1993 then moved everywhere and left in 2006 just before they went to Wales
Merry Christmas to all the old Booths lads and lasses
Hi Carl yes I remember Stan cocking who I used to work with he passed away not long after he retired
That's the one Harry, couldn't remember his surname..... sad to hear when ex colleagues pass away!
Hi Carl my brother Norman is doing OK as for my uncle louie he passed away 10 years ago
What's he up to Harry? That's a shame about Louie we drank with him in the Maypole in the 80s. What are you doing now? Rich and retired I reckon...
Sorry to hear about your Dad passing away too Harry I had a lot of time for Reggie!
Hi Carl I'm still working at 63 my dad had a good inn's at 91 I still see Doris badham at the yardley wood social club she's 93 now
I'm still at it too at 64 working for NHS in engineering, no rest for us H. Reggie did well there and I'm glad he had a long life.....Nice guy! Doris has done well too but probably takes a bit longer to get up the front if she's called for a full house on the Bingo!! Are Dave & Steve Morris still drinking in there?
Hi Carl yes Steve & dave still use the yardley wood I'm also a member at the E57 I've seen Andy Williams from the plating shop in the E57
Nice one Harry! Give them all my regards 👍
Give them all my regards as well please Harry I hope Dave is well and getting on with his life now xx
I worked their from 1983 till 1987 was 20 when I left good times I remember a few Walter Blake-Devon Blake- Micheal Christie-Everton -Doreen-Reg-Dorris- to name but a few Good times
hi David gough my name is Harry edwards one of reggie edwards sons I can't seem to remember you where did you work at booths
He worked in the polishing shop Harry with your Dad
Hi Carl thanks for the info about David gough I probably would recognise him if I saw him again

Add a comment